About the Primer on Population Health

In 2007, a group of teachers from Canadian medical schools met and formed a Public Health Educator’s Network (PHEN). They agreed that integrating public and population health concepts into clinical practice is essential to the provision of high quality health care. They also agreed on the need for a textbook to introduce these concepts to medical students. The text would would be freely available on the web and would cover the population health learning objectives of the Medical Council of Canada, the licensing body.

The first edition in 2010 was created collaboratively by PHEN members and helped to establish agreement on a syllabus for public and population health teaching. A second edition in 2016 incorporated feedback from readers; the current, third edition (2024) updates the public health content and reflects revised learning objectives from the Medical Council. While the Primer is tailored for medical students, it can also serve residency trainees in Public Health and Preventive Medicine, as well as students of other health care professions and clinicians interested in improving their knowledge.

Editors
First and second editions:
Denise Donovan, Université de Sherbrooke: Centre de formation médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick
Ian McDowell, University of Ottawa

Third edition:
Ian McDowell, University of Ottawa
Reed Morrison, Public Health Ontario and NOSM University
Nikhil Rajaram, University of Toronto.

Funding
Production and translation of the first edition of the Primer was funded through a contribution by the Public Health Agency of Canada, Office of Public Health Practice, Professional Development Division.

Support in kind for the second edition is gratefully acknowledged from the Centre de formation médicale du Nouveau Brunswick, Université de Sherbrooke, and from the University of Ottawa.

The editors have relied throughout on administrative support from the AFMC to manage the production process and website development.

Feedback
We invite your comments on the Primer and welcome suggestions for its improvement. Please email us at info@afmc.ca, attention Ian McDowell.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Français (French)

À propos notions de santé des populations

AFMC Notions de santé des populations – Un cybermanuel sur les concepts de santé publique à l’usage des cliniciens.

En 2007, un groupe d’enseignants des 16 facultés de médecine canadiennes s’est réuni pour former un réseau d’éducateurs en santé publique (RESP). Ils ont convenu que l’intégration des concepts de santé publique et de santé des populations dans la pratique clinique est essentielle à la prestation de soins de santé de haute qualité. Ils ont également convenu de la nécessité d’un manuel pour présenter ces concepts aux étudiants en médecine. Le texte serait disponible sur le Web et couvrirait les objectifs d’apprentissage en santé de la population du Conseil médical du Canada, l’organisme d’agrément pour les étudiants en médecine.

La première édition, parue en 2010, a été créée en collaboration par les membres du RESP et a contribué à établir un accord sur un programme d’enseignement en santé publique et des populations. Une deuxième édition en 2016 a intégré les commentaires des lecteurs ; la troisième édition actuelle (2024) met à jour le contenu sur la santé publique et reflète les objectifs d’apprentissage révisés du Conseil médical. Bien que le manuel soit adapté aux étudiants en médecine, il peut également servir aux stagiaires en résidence en santé publique et médecine préventive, ainsi qu’aux étudiants d’autres professions de la santé et aux cliniciens souhaitant améliorer leurs connaissances.

Rédacteurs
Première et deuxième éditions :
Denise Donovan, Université de Sherbrooke : Centre de formation médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick
Ian McDowell, Université d’Ottawa

Troisième édition :
Ian McDowell, Université d’Ottawa
Reed Morrison, Santé publique Ontario et L’école de médecine du nord de l’Ontario
Nikhil Rajaram, University of Toronto.

Financement 
La réalisation de la première édition du manuel a été rendue possible grâce à une contribution du secteur responsable du perfectionnement professionnel du Bureau de la pratique en santé publique de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada.
Nous sommes très reconnaissants de l’aide en nature de la part du Centre de formation médicale du Nouveau Brunswick en collaboration avec l’Université de Sherbrooke, et de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Rétroaction
Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos commentaires sur ce manuel et sommes ouverts à vos suggestions pour l’améliorer. Nous les utiliserons pour développer de nouveaux contenus pour les prochaines éditions. Veuillez nous envoyer un courriel à info@afmc.ca attention Ian McDowell.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

English (Anglais)